Understanding Active Generation

Jun 22, 2008 at 3:07 PM
Hi. I'm just getting started using the framework. I'm trying to get a handle on best practices for regeneration after db changes.

My db design is nice and tight (for today, at least).  I've generated my code once, opened and built in in VS, and added it to Subversion. That all went perfectly, and I started building the admin section of my project.  Yesterday I decided to change the table names on all my lookup tables, adding a "ref_" prefix to them, mostly for organizational reasons.   I have not done any custom coding yet, so I could delete or overwrite the entire BLL and database projects. 

Upon regeneration, there seemed to be scattered references to the old table names, and build errors.  The old classes generated for the tables whose names I changed were still in the VS project. Is this just a VS issue?  I've read "Understanding Active generation"  but there are a few details I still need to understand.

In my scenario, should I have

1. deleted all the generated code (I thought not, and did not)
2. In CodeSmith, excluded all the tables except the renamed ones and ones that have a relationship to it?
3. Or just regenerated the whole thing?
4.  In CodeSmith, added "ref_" as a table prefix to remove?
5. Deleted everything in the VS project before regenerating, then going back into Studio and manually including all the new files?

I'm sure it's a combination of 1-5. :) Sorry for the long list of questions. FANTASTIC project, by the way.....

crab

Coordinator
Jun 25, 2008 at 5:16 PM
The solution and project will not get regenerated if it already exists, so there's no worrys there that the will get overwritten. However, that also means that they are not getting modified with the new (or removed) entity .cs class files.